vrijdag 16 september 2011

J.D. Robb – New York to Dallas

Book 33 in the In Death series, published September 2011.

New York to Dallas

The number-one New York Times-bestselling author J. D. Robb presents an intense and terrifying new case for New York homicide cop Eve Dallas, one that will take her all the way to the city that gave her her name - and plunge her into the nightmares of her childhood.

When a monster named Isaac McQueen - taken down by Eve back in her uniform days - escapes from Rikers, he has two things in mind. One is to pick up where he left off, abducting young victims and leaving them scarred in both mind and body. The other is to get revenge on the woman who stopped him all those years ago.

Wow, this book was one hell of a ride! Pardon the expression. A real emotional rollercoaster, for Eve and Roarke, as well for me reading it. I did not want it to end at all, but of course the killer had to be caught.

12 years ago, Eve was just a rookie cop, just out of the academy for six weeks. Working the simple things a rookie gets to do. When a couple gets mugged, and the man killed and the woman badly injured, she and her older experienced partner are to do a door to door, to find witnesses, people who might have seen something and not thought about it. Her partner takes the first floor, and Eve the third floor. She comes up to one man who strikes her as of. He is polite, and answers the questions, but still, she has this feeling. So with some excuse she gets inside his apartment and notices some strange things. Like enormous heavy locks on the outside of a bedroom door. When he tries to kill her with a knife, she manages to stun him, and finds out what is behind that door. A man the police has been looking for for years, collecting young girls, keeping them for years, abusing them, keeping them in chains. 22 young girls. And she never quite forgot those eyes in her nightmares. But she freed them.
And now that monster, Isaac McQueen, has escaped prison. As he was never convicted for murder, he was imprisoned on planet, even though he has killed often before.
Even before the New York police is notified of his escape, he has made his first strike. He wants to get back to his deserved good life, and he wants revenge on the female cop who busted him, Eve Dallas. He goes back to the apartment he used back then, breaks in, and terrorizes the couple that lives there. He sends the man out with a message for Eve, while he tortures and rapes the female. Of course, when Eve gets there, he is long gone. So now the hunt is on. But he is too smart to stay in New York, her home turf. And the last victim he kidnapped 12 years ago, and the only one who came to see him in Rikers, lives in Dallas. He knows Eve has old history in Dallas and knows it will distract her. He also doesn’t work alone. He usually has an older woman in his powers, someone he puts in the mother role, like his own psychotic mother was. She abused him, and started his liking for young girls, and provided them for him. So he gets close to a weak older woman, some one with an addiction he can feed, some one he can control. And she will help him find his new collection of girls, and provide for him. And when he tires of her, he just slits her throat, and dumps her in a river, just like he did his own mother when he was 19. Only that has not been proven in court yet.

And now, having lured Eve and Roarke to Dallas, the games begin. Eve and Roarke will have to work together with the Dallas Police, the sister of the first victim, who was kidnapped with her twin sister. And with the FBI, which will take a lot of diplomacy on Eve’s part. It is not easy for Eve, to face this. It brings back the memories to her own childhood way to vividly, the nightmares are horrible. And when Eve suffers, so does Roarke. But they will get through it all, with the help of each other and of Dr. Mira.

When Isaac kidnappes a young girl, the stakes are raised again. But they have some solid leads on the female helper, and are closing in fast.

Okay, not going to spoil anything of the suspense, what happens, what actions are taken, and what horrors Isaac and his helper inflict on their victims. Let me just tell you again, this is a very intense story, lots of action, lots of suspense, and often a race against the clock. The question is raised again, how important is the blood in your veins, your upbringing, and the person you have become?

I loved the book, devoured it, and did not want it to end, but of course it does. It was simply great. Eve and Roarke are so great together, and some of the Dallas cops were good secondary characters. I guess you can read those books as stand alone for the mystery and suspense part, but really not for the personal parts. You will not understand the impact it all has for Eve and Roarke. If you want to read this absolutely fabulous series, you have to start with the first book. And I promise, if you like romantic suspense, police procedures, and of course a bit of science fiction, as all this plays in the year 2060, you will not be sorry. I’ve read most of the series twice now, and the books are still as good as the first time. Take the time to get to know Eve Dallas and her husband Roarke, and the secondary characters in this series. They will become friends, and you will want a Roarke of your very own, and not just because he is a multi billionaire.

10 stars.

5 opmerkingen:

  1. Interesting that she changed the naming pattern for this one. I have always had a crush on Roarke. Eve is so lucky.

  2. i've never read this series, I'm not really into police procedurals. But the futuristic element is a neat touch. Does the entire series follow the same main character and does it have to be read in order?

  3. And I was saying it would take long for me to read Feehan but what about this series then. Now that would take 2 months if not more if I read nothing else ;)

    But I want roarke!

  4. @Vickie: according to her newsletter, that was her publisher's idea, but it works for this book. The rest of the series will be In Death again though.
    @Jennifer: for the murder investigation they solve in each book, you don't need to read in order. But the personal lives continue from one book to the next, so to enjoy that the most, I recommend reading in order. Just try the first one. Even though technology is evolved, humans still kill each other.
    @Blodeuedd: the books are not so big, and they read fast. With most of them I am glued to the pages.

  5. It's high on my reading list, but I needed some restful reading first. I'll be reading it in a couple of days. I know it will be great!