woensdag 24 april 2013

Maya Banks – Seduction of a Highland Lass

The second book in the Highlander series, published September 27, 2011.
Genre: historical romance
Cover: nice

Seduction of a Highland Lass photo n377329_zpsb06e8e78.jpg

Maya Banks, the New York Times bestselling author of erotic romance, romantic suspense, and contemporary romance, has captivated readers with her steamy Scottish historical novels, perfect for fans of Julie Garwood. In Seduction of a Highland Lass, an indomitable Highland warrior is caught between loyalty and forbidden love.

Fiercely loyal to his elder brother, Alaric McCabe leads his clan in the fight for their birthright. Now he is prepared to wed for duty, as well. But on his way to claim the hand of Rionna McDonald, daughter of a neighboring chieftain, he is ambushed and left for dead. Miraculously, his life is saved by the soft touch of a Highland angel, a courageous beauty who will put to the test his fealty to his clan, his honor, and his deepest desires.
An outcast from her own clan, Keeley McDonald was betrayed by those she loved and trusted. When the wounded warrior falls from his horse, she is drawn to his strong, lean body. The wicked glint in his green eyes ignites a passion that will follow them back to Alaric's keep, where their forbidden love draws them deeper into the pleasures of the flesh. But as conspiracy and danger circle closer, Alaric must make an impossible choice: Will he betray his blood ties for the woman he loves?


To unite their clans against a mutual enemy, Alaric McCabe has promised to wed with Rionna McDonald, and become the next Laird of the McDonalds. As a second son, this will be his chance to have land and lead a clan himself. His brother and Laird Ewan McCabe has a very pregnant wife, Mairin, and the birth of their child will get them Mairin’s dowry. After much hardship, the McCabe’s are slowly climbing to prosperity again. So his marriage is very important to both their clans.
It is time to go over to the McDonalds and get to know his future wife and clan. Alaric doesn’t really want to leave his family behind, but he is ready to do his duty. He will honor his word.

But on the way to the McDonald Keep, Alaric and his warriors are ambushed, and only Alaric manages to escape the overwhelming amount of enemies, but he is severely wounded. His horse carries him unconscious to a small village, where he falls of at the feet of Keeley McDonald, the unofficial McDonald healer. With a lot of trouble she manages to get him inside, and take care of his wounds. Alaric is very seriously injured though, and she is not sure she can safe him, but try it she will. Alaric goes in and out of consciousness, confusing Keeley with an angel from heaven, or a demon to torment him.
After a few days of almost no rest for Keeley, they are found by Ewan McCabe and his men, who have followed Alaric’s trail when his horse came home with an empty saddle. Not hesitating at all, Ewan just takes Keeley with them home, as they have no healer at Clan McCabe at the moment, and he needs her. Not only to take care of Alaric, but also to be midwife to his wife Mairin, when she will give birth in a few weeks. Keeley has no say in the matter, but the thought to belong to a clan again, is very tempting.

Alaric is only quiet when Keeley is near, and so she almost cannot leave his side. There is this odd attraction between them, something she has never felt before. But Keeley knows he is to wed her former best friend, and she won’t come between them. He will just have to stop kissing her and touching her, their relationship is not to be.

But when Keeley’s past gets known, even the third brother, Caelen, defends her. And he comes to admire her new loyalty to the McCabe’s and to Alaric in specific. Alaric is falling in love with Keeley, and she with him, but when even the King himself is coming over to witness Alaric marrying Rionna McDonald, there is nothing he can do but honor his promises and his clan.


Maya Banks is a superb author; I enjoyed this book from cover to cover. She has really given me back my love for Highlanders.
Keeley is a strong character, she survived something that not many women in her time would have, and she is resilient and a good and compassionate healer. She is not to be ignored, and she will demand what is her right. I really liked her. She stood firm against Alaric who just wanted to seduce her, until she knew she was in love with him and wanted the few nights together they could have before his marriage.
Alaric though, was kind of a spoiled child who has never been denied anything, and he did not like Keeley telling him no. He agreed with her reasons, and still he kept pursuing her. I would have liked him to have a little bit more honor and try to fight his feelings for Keeley some more. He is a stubborn warrior, with little care for himself. But he does not force anything on her, he just keeps trying.

I loved how Keeley and Mairin bonded against those McCabe men. With the other women from the first book, they sure were a fun bunch.

The end was of course not really a big surprise, but the way the story went, that was a twist I did not foresee. So yes, it was still surprisingly good. This book has some of those hot love scenes that Maya Banks is a master of writing; it never gets dull or boring. I like her writing style very much, her pacing, her sense of humor.

I am looking very much forward to reading the next book in this trilogy.

9 stars.



Autobuy authorLove this book

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

© 2013 Reviews by Aurian

10 opmerkingen:

  1. I really enjoyed this whole trilogy :) It was exactly what I want in my historicals: hawt men and daring women :)

    BeantwoordenVerwijderen
    Reacties
    1. I am going to read the third one soon Felicia.

      Verwijderen
  2. After reading one book by this author... I wanna read them all. I loved the characters in that book and it looks like I will love them in this one. Need it! :D

    BeantwoordenVerwijderen
    Reacties
    1. I agree, I want to read them all Melissa, so I bought them all :)

      Verwijderen
  3. I'm so glad you gave these book to me for my birthday! I already started in book 1. I have a feeling I'll be reading all three in de coming week!

    BeantwoordenVerwijderen
  4. I love your reviews about the Maya Banks books, they all sound so good. I'll have to try them! Just don't know when, I really need to read my books lol.

    BeantwoordenVerwijderen
    Reacties
    1. I know what you mean Melliane, so many books to read!

      Verwijderen
  5. Oh no! Even when I know there will be a HEA I get scared

    BeantwoordenVerwijderen
    Reacties
    1. Yes, it was really exciting how it all happened.

      Verwijderen